What is the NDIS?

The NDIS provides funding to eligible people with disability to gain more time with family and friends, greater independence, access to new skills, jobs, or volunteering in their community, and an improved quality of life. 

The NDIS also connects anyone with disability to services in their community. This includes connections to doctors, community groups, sporting clubs, support groups, libraries and schools, as well as providing information about what support is provided by each state and territory government.

The NDIS now supports over 500,000 Australians with disability to access the services and supports they need.

What services or supports can be delivered under the NDIS?

Participants choose and pay for supports and services out of an individually allocated budget based on their goals.

Supports and services for participants fall into three categories: core, capital and capacity building.

  • Core: A support that helps a participant complete daily living activities.
  • Capital: A support for an investment, such as assistive technologies, equipment and home or vehicle modifications, or funding for capital costs (e.g. to pay for Specialist Disability Accommodation).
  • Capacity building: A support that helps a participant build their independence and skills.

Participants receive funding in their plans to access ‘reasonable and necessary’ services and supports to help pursue their goals.

These supports fall into 15 categories aligned with their purpose. These are:

  1. Assistance with Daily Life
  2. Transport
  3. Consumables
  4. Assistance with Social & Community Participation
  5. Assistive Technology
  6. Home Modifications
  7. Coordination of Supports
  8. Improved Living Arrangements
  9. Increased Social and Community Participation
  10. Finding and Keeping a Job
  11. Improved Relationships
  12. Improved Health and Wellbeing
  13. Improved Learning
  14. Improved Life Choices
  15. Improved Daily Living​

Watch this video to learn more about the NDIS